Père-Lachaise, Carnaval à Châlons-en-Champagne.

I spent Saturday morning in Paris with some old and new friends, visting Père-Lachaise, the famous French cemetery. Later, I was able to find some quality time with some lost contacts in Châlons-en-Champagne, where I encountered an amazing and inspiring parade and daylong festival. With only three weeks left on my tenure here, I am beginning to have trouble reconciling with my upcoming, inevitable, return home.

DSC00772

Cimetière du Père-Lachaise.

DSC00773

Père-Lachaise.

DSC00777

Victor Noir. Rubbing his junk apparently boosts fertility.

DSC00778

The tomb of Oscar Wilde.

DSC00779

Upon closer examination.

DSC00781

An incredibly moving sight.

DSC00783

Celebrity cameos.

DSC00784

Again, very, very moving, and overwhelming love.

DSC00785

Sing, girl, sing!

DSC00790

Carnaval, Châlons-en-Champagne.

DSC00793

Costumes abound. Confetti covers EVERYTHING.

DSC00797

My bad. I didn’t realize I’d violated your personal space.

DSC00799

No idea.

DSC00791

No better way to wrap this post (that’s a tremendous bag of confetti in his hand, by the way. It does not taste good when launched directly at your open mouth.).

flickr.

About voyageur intrépide

I love Virginia, France, the planet and its people. I don't believe that GDP and Happiness are, at all, mutually dependent.
This entry was posted in Photos, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

